Bush, 'The Sea of Memories' (Zuma Rock/eOne)

The Sea of Memories
Critical Mass
Release Date: September 13, 2011
Label: Zuma Rock/eOne

by Mikael Wood

To clarify, the band name here doesn't quite signify the post-grunge hit factory you grew up pretending to hate. On the first Bush album since 2001's Golden State, frontman Gavin Rossdale and drummer Robin Goodridge are flanked by a pair of new recruits, including guitarist Chris Traynor, who also played in Rossdale's short-lived Institute. Still, Memories does indeed trigger some, particularly when a big-chorused rocker ("The Afterlife") opens up like a razor-blade suitcase. As for the ballads, you're better off YouTubing "Glycerine" -- or one of the tearjerkers ("Forever May You Run" ) from Rossdale's underappreciated 2008 solo disc.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 J. Cole — Be Free " 04:01
  • 2 Captain Murphy — Cosplay " 02:41
  • 3 Charli XCX — Break the Rules " 03:24
  • 4 Eve — The Beat Is So Crazy (featuring Madonna) " 04:00
  • 5 Roger Sellers — Waves " 06:30
  • 6 Dorian Concept — Ann River, Mn " 04:08

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA