The Broken West, 'Now or Heaven' (Merge)

Now or Heaven
Critical Mass
Label: Merge

by Josh Modell

This California band's second album begins with the click of a drum machine, which seems like a deliberate departure from their debut's pleasantly anachronistic '70s country rock. But the change is mostly quick and cosmetic: The Broken West have only marginally updated their sound, now nodding to current antecedents like Wilco and Spoon (whose detached cool informs the slinky "Smartest Man Alive"). But they're never slavish imitators, and when they goose the velocity -- on "Auctioneer" and "Perfect Games" -- those comparisons gradually fade into classic, shimmery guitar pop.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA