Brand New, 'Daisy' (Procrastinate Music Traitors/DGC/Interscope)

Critical Mass
Label: Procrastinate Music Traitors/DGC/Interscope

by Mikael Wood

The hardy Long Island lugs in Brand New might be the only guys in emo who still care more about Rites of Spring than they do about Weezer. On the follow-up to 2006's instructively titled The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me, frontman Jesse Lacey howls about burning in bed and turning to dirt while his bandmates churn out noisy, jagged art-punk riffs that routinely explode without warning. (You would think the trick would stop surprising you halfway through Daisy, but it doesn't.) The sound is old-fashioned, but the fury is fresh.

READ:'s Q&A with Brand New's Jesse Lacey



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 2 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 3 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 4 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 5 The Julie Ruin — Brightside " 03:04
  • 6 Mirel Wagner — What Love Looks Like " 03:07
  • 7 Amen Dunes — I Can't Dig It " 04:53

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA