The Black Ghosts, 'The Black Ghosts' (IAMSOUND)

The Black Ghosts
Critical Mass

by J Gabriel Boylan

This debut from electro rocker Simon Lord (Simian) and Big Beat vet Theo "DJ Touché" Keating (the Wiseguys) has a sinister allure when Keating's dark, steely disco productions are paired with Lord's whiny, desperate alto ("I Want Nothing," "I Don't Know"). Violence even seems imminent on the opener, "Some Way Through This," as Lord addresses an unresponsive lover: "If my hands were round your throat / Would you tell me what I need to know?" Jazzy, organ-fueled standout "It's Your Touch" provides a moment of uncharacteristically sunny relief.Curiously, one of the duo's few real missteps is the thin and pointless "Repetition," featuring Damon Albarn.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA