Black Dice, 'Repo' (Paw Tracks)

Critical Mass

by SPIN Staff

If their sonic brethren Animal Collective are the Robert Crumb of the Brooklyn noise family, able to convert their peculiar sonics into something populist and generational, then Black Dice are the perpetually esoteric older Crumb brother Charles: inscrutable, agoraphobic, undeniably brilliant but just as undeniably demented. All descriptions apply to their fifth album, with each track bursting at the seams with warped sounds. The trio whip through all manner of rubber-band noise on"La Cucaracha," screw down otherwise danceable breaks for "Ultra Vomit Craze," and mix alien choirs with punk shouts ("Glazin"). Now, if they could only get off the couch.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 2 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 3 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 4 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 5 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA