Asobi Seksu, 'Fluorescence' (Polyvinyl)

Critical Mass
Release Date: February 15, 2011
Label: Polyvinyl

by SPIN Staff

Asobi Seksu are consis-tently literal with their album titles. For 2009's Hush, the duo of James Hanna and Yuki Chikudate toned down the guitar overdrive to allow their crystalline songcraft to glimmer. And Fluorescence, their fourth studio album, has an overwhelming brightness -- neon synth squiggles illuminate the shoegaze surge of "Counterglow," while epic centerpiece "Leave the Drummer Out There" is spotlighted by said instrument's crisp martial beat. But amid the air-raid guitars of the anthemic "Trails," Chikudate finds space to soar from a hushed coo to an outright howl: "Please, don't leave me here with nothing."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA