Arthur Russell, 'Love Is Overtaking Me' (Audika)

Love Is Overtaking Me
Critical Mass
Label: Audika

by SPIN Staff

While Russell's left-field disco singles -- Loose Joints' "Is It All Over My Face?" and Dinosaur L's "Go Bang" -- remain his career's standard, new facets of the singer-songwriter/cellist's talent have emerged since his death from AIDS in 1992, including electro pop, minimal classical composition, and now, jangly folk rock. Culled from hundreds of practice tapes, demos, and finished masters, this collection moves from cowboy songs ("Goodbye Old Paint") to the Modern Lovers ("Habit of You"), and anticipates Neutral Milk Hotel ("Eli"). Love letters, brief smiles, a touch on the arm, friends, and pets abound; throughout, Russell poignantly captures and echoes life's ephemeral delights.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 DJ Center — 2AM inna London Dub " 05:10
  • 2 The Pains of Being Pure at Heart — Eurydice " 04:19
  • 3 Twin Shadow — To The Top " 03:20
  • 4 Fantasmes — Bare Bones " 04:58
  • 5 The Black Angels — An Occurrence at 4507 South Third Street " 03:20
  • 6 Soundgarden — Black Hole Sun (Demo) " 05:54
  • 7 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA