Alice in Chains, 'Black Gives Way to Blue' (Virgin/EMI)

Black Gives Way to Blue
Critical Mass
Label: Virgin/EMI

by Kenny Herzog

Once alt-rock's moribund ne'er-do-wells, Alice in Chains still have an appealing outcast aura on their first studio album in 14 years (and their only release sans late singer Layne Staley). As with latter efforts Jar of Flies and Alice in Chains, Black's most tender moments ("Private Hell") are its most essential. And while William DuVall is a serviceable Staley impressionist, this comeback would register with more purpose had guitarist Jerry Cantrell assumed the vocal lead. Instead, DuVall warbles misanthropically over too many muddy, grunge-era grind-a-thons (even Elton John's piano cameo on the poignant title track feels '90s retro).

WATCH: Alice in Chains, "Check My Brain"



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA