Akron/Family, 'S/T II: The Cosmic Birth and Journey of Shinju TNT' (Dead Oceans)

S/T II: The Cosmic Birth and Journey of Shinju TNT
Critical Mass
Release Date: February 8, 2011
Label: Dead Oceans

by Richard Gehr

This loud and proud psych-folk trio want some old-fashioned joy on their fifth album -- and they want it now. Obviously under the sway of avant-noise pioneers like Acid Mothers Temple and Boredoms, the indie jam enthusiasts add tribal drums and walls of fuzzy guitar to their increasingly convincing hippie harmonizing. Akron's cosmic cruise extends from the honeydripping forest of "Silly Bears" to the sad street scene of "Fuji II (Single Pane)" to a birdsong-dappled paradise ("Island"), ending with a blissful shout-out to godly free-jazzer Pharaoh Sanders ("Creator").

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Paperwhite — Pieces " 03:58
  • 2 Michael Rault — Nothing Means Nothing " 02:56
  • 3 Gold Beach — Impressions " 04:32
  • 4 GENUFLEX — The Last Gods (Mark Stewart And Rambone Remix) " 05:13
  • 5 Sleigh Bells — That Did It Feat. Tink " 02:41
  • 6 Monster Rally & Jay Stone — Recollection " 02:10
  • 7 Little Boots — Pretty Tough " 03:18

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA