About Group, 'Start and Complete' (Domino)

Start and Complete
Critical Mass
Release Date: April 26, 2011
Label: Domino

by SPIN Staff

Recorded in one day, the debut by Hot Chip's Alexis Taylor, This Heat percussionist Charles Hayward, Spring Heel Jack's John Coxon, and U.K. jazz improviser Pat Thomas eschews exploratory jamming to probe the nuances of Taylor's songs. Unfortunately, those songs are slight, unfocused things. A lovely electric organ buoys the charming "Don't Worry" and the group makes taffy out of deep soul cut and early Terry Riley tape-loop experiment "You're No Good" (stretching it to 11 minutes), but little else lingers.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 2 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 3 White Arrows — I Want a Taste " 04:15
  • 4 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 5 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA