First Spin: DJ Drama's New Album 'Quality Street Music'

by Brandon Soderberg
DJ Drama
DJ Drama

With appearances by 2 Chainz, Kevin Hart, Rick Ross, Tyler, the Creator, Drake, ScHoolboy Q, more

<p>DJ Drama likes to keep listeners on their toes. Earlier this week, he hosted perpetually-buzzing street dude Freddie Gibbs' much-anticipated <i>Baby Face Killa</i> mixtape, and not too long ago, he lorded over hip-pop superstar Lil Wayne's <i>Dedication 4</i>. Next week, <i>Quality Street Music</i>, the mixtape curator's fourth major label album, arrives. As is often the case with a Drama-assisted project, its success hinges on his in-the-box thinking tweaked just right, as well as the wild, "let's just try it and see" thrill that comes from discordant, counterintuitive collaborations.</p>

<p>Consider "I'm a Hata," in which Waka Flocka wears his DGAF attitude like a badge ("I'm a hater, fuck your wrist!"), and then Odd Future's Tyler, the Creator furiously bursts through to shout out <i>Chappelle's Show</i> Silky Johnson (of the infamous Playa Hater's Ball skit), and add some wordy menace to a Flocka shout-fest. If you've ever wondered what Meek Mill, Birdman, and Gucci Mane would sound like rapping over what sounds like a bunch of Smurfs being stepped on, well then, make sure you check out "My Audemars." Meanwhile, Miguel continues to add an air of sophisticated patience to radio-friendly rap and R&B on "Clouds," featuring Rick Ross, Pusha T, and Curren$y. <i>Quality Street Music</i> ends with Fred the Godson's "Monique's Room," a murky breakup song that puts NYC hard-headed vitriol into post-Drake emo-rap whirls. Not to mention, comedian Kevin Hart does his take on the Madd Rapper on "Chocolate Droppa Skit," an absurdist send-up of annoying neighborhood cats trying to get their rap on.</p>

<p>DJ Drama's <i>Quality Street Music</i> is out on Tuesday (<a href="" target="_blank">pre-order it here</a>), but you can stream it below, exclusively at SPIN.</p>

<p class="media">

  • DJ Drama — Goin' Down feat. Fabolous, T-Pain & Yo Gotti
  • DJ Drama — Never Die feat. Jadakiss, Cee-Lo Green, Nipsey Hussle & Young Jeezy
  • DJ Drama — My Moment feat. 2 Chainz, Meek Mill & Jeremih
  • DJ Drama — We In This Bitch feat. Young Jeezy, TI, Ludacris, & Future
  • DJ Drama — So Many Girls feat. Wale, Tyga & Roscoe Dash
  • DJ Drama — Clouds feat. Rick Ross, Miguel, Pusha T & Curren$y
  • DJ Drama — Chocolate Droppa Skit- Kevin Hart
  • DJ Drama — I'm a Hata feat. Waka Flocka Flame, Tyler, The Creator & D-Bo
  • DJ Drama — Real N_____ In The Building feat. Travis Porter & Kirko Bangz
  • DJ Drama — My Way feat. Common, Lloyd & Kendrick Lamar
  • DJ Drama — Pledge Of Allegiance feat. Wiz Khalifa, Planet VI & B.O.B.
  • DJ Drama — Same Ol' Story feat. Kid Ink, ScHoolboy Q, Corey Gunz & Childish Gambino
  • DJ Drama — We In This Bitch 1.5 feat. Drake & Future
  • DJ Drama — My Audemars feat. Meek Mill, Birdman & Gucci Mane
  • DJ Drama — Monique's Room feat. Fred the Godson

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Parkay Quarts — Uncast Shadow Of A Southern Myth " 06:27
  • 2 Digitalism — Second Chance " 04:53
  • 3 Kiesza — Bad Thing Feat. Joey Bada$$ " 03:32
  • 4 Bob Dylan — 900 Miles from My Home " 02:14

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA