Hear Zola Jesus' Stunning 'Fall Back,' Her Orchestral Album's Lone New Song

Dramatic track is the only original from August 20 LP 'Versions'

Zola Jesus fall back new song versions
Zola Jesus Photo by Angel Ceballos
Dan Reilly

Zola Jesus' Versions features string-aided reworkings of her back catalog courtesy of the Mivos Quartet and composer JG Thirlwell, stripping away her electronic production to get to the "the bone of the music," as she puts it. But the album does include a new song, the grand "Fall Back," which finds the 24-year-old artist (a.k.a. Nika Roza Danilova) swimming in more anthemic, even poppier waters than on Versions' minimalist "Avalanche (Slow)." This one steadily builds up steam, moving from tremolo-picked violins and an almost-mournful cello line to more structured arrangements before the drums kick the song into high gear. For her part, Danilova goes from quavering to triumphant, reminiscent of Florence + the Machine with every bit of that crossover appeal. Stream "Fall Back" below and pick up Versions on August 20 via Sacred Bones.   

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA