Wooden Shjips Set Sail on Sleepy-Eyed 'These Shadows (Acoustic Version)'

'Back to Land' LP docks on November 12 courtesy Thrill Jockey Records

Wooden Shjips, back to land, these shadows
Wooden Shjips Photo by Andrew Paynter
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

The first sample of Wooden Shjips' upcoming Back to Land album has surfaced. To preface their follow-up to 2011's West, the psych-explorers have shared an acoustic version of "These Shadows," an ambling track that's set to appear (in electric form) on Wooden Shjips' next full-length. For now, wander through the unplugged rendition, a sleepy shuffler that recalls the lackadaisical wonder of Philly longhair — and SPIN cover starKurt Vile.

"These Shadows (Acoustic Version)" is streaming below and available for purchase as a digital single on iTunes. The song is also being offered as an instant download to anyone who pre-orders Back to Land through iTunes or Thrill Jockey Records. Fans who reserve a vinyl version of the album will also receive a complimentary 7-inch featuring "These Shadows (Acoustic Version)" and another non-album cut called "Colours."

Back to Land, which was recorded in Portland with producer Kendra Lynn and mixed by Larry Crane, is out November 12.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA