Stream William Tyler of Lambchop's Full, Hypnotic 'Impossible Truth'

Hear guitarist's second solo LP (and Merge debut) in its entirety, two weeks before its March 19 release

William Tyler / Photo by Will Holland
William Tyler / Photo by Will Holland
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

For the moment, William Tyler is preoccupied with geography. Save for one, every single song title on the Nashville-based guitar maestro's upcoming second album, Impossible Truth (out March 19 on Merge), references a location, either surreal ("Cadillac Desert"), psychic ("We Can't Go Home Again"), or communal ("The World Set Free").

In a recent teaser video for his forthcoming sophomore effort, Tyler shared some of the ideas and inspirations that wandered through his mind while he crafted the follow-up to his 2010 debut, Behold the Spirit. "Our country, like any other country, is an imagined community, a country of illusion," he said, after describing nightmares of a Ronald Reagan-hosted end-of-the-world party. "We've mutually agreed upon terms of geography, history, and identity, yet those can change. Just ask a ghost town, or a river that's been diverted, or a holder of an East German passport."

The Best New Artist alum's new instrumental effort feels just as elusive, if not transcendent. Painting a layered and hazy, John Fahey-indebted landscape, the Lambchop and Silver Jews associate comes across as travel-weary cartographer and six-string virtuoso all at once. 

  • William Tyler — Country of Illusion
  • William Tyler — Geography of Nowhere
  • William Tyler — Cadillac Desert
  • William Tyler — We Can't Go Home Again
  • William Tyler — A Portrait of Sarah
  • William Tyler — Hotel Catatonia
  • William Tyler — Last Residents of Westfall
  • William Tyler — The World Set Free

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Fantasmes — Bare Bones " 04:58
  • 2 The Black Angels — An Occurrence at 4507 South Third Street " 03:20
  • 3 J Dilla — Give Em What They Want " 02:45
  • 4 Low Leaf — Set Me Free " 02:13
  • 5 Doe Paoro — Nobody " 03:05
  • 6 Chromeo with Ezra Koenig — Ezra's Interlude " 01:55
  • 7 Soundgarden — Black Hole Sun (Demo) " 05:54

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA