Hear Widowspeak's Dark, Prairie-Crawling 'Calico'

Cinematic psych-folk duo plot 'The Swamps' EP for October

Widowspeak 'Calico' The Swamps EP Stream
The cover of Widowspeak's 'The Swamps' EP Courtesy of Captured Tracks
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

It was only January when SPIN interviewed Widowspeak on the occasion of the release of their debut album Almanac. But the bicoastal Amer-psych-ana strummers have a new EP due out October 29 via Captured Tracks. Stereogum has shared an advance taste of The Swamps via the song "Calico," a brooding prairie-crawler featuring the sweet vocals of Molly Hamilton and the shimmering guitar of Robert Earl Thomas. The six-song set will also include "True Believer," which finds the duo at the height of their hazy, loping game.

Widowspeak, True Believer track list:

1. "Theme From the Swamps"
2. "Smoke and Mirrors"
3. "Calico"
4. "Brass Bed"
5. "True Believer"
6. "The Swamps"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA