Hear Wharfer's Musing Folk Ballad 'Hawley'

Brooklyn-based songwriter shares opener from 'Eyelids' EP, out June 10

wharfer, kyle wall, eyelids, hawley
Wharfer's Kyle Wall Nicholas Camacho
Cynthia Orgel WRITTEN BY
Cynthia Orgel

Last summer, Wharfer (a.k.a. singer-songwriter Kyle Wall) released The Rattling, an album of subtle, bedroom-folk treasures. Wall recorded the full-length in his Brooklyn home and backyard, a process that imbued the 10-track set with a dusky, lo-fi preciousness. Since then, the Scranton native has finished a follow-up dubbed the Eyelids EP. Due June 10, the five-song short-player was mixed on Wall's phone without mics. Despite that minimalist approach, the singer's voice booms with a newfound confidence reminiscent of Bill Callahan.

Preview the Eyelids EP by streaming its opening tune, "Hawley," below. No drums are necessary on the mellow track, what with the mix of understated double bass and trembling mandolin, played by seasoned jazz musicians David Speranza and Roy Williams, respectively. But it's Wall's sonorous vocals that are front and center, commanding and tinged with an everlasting gloom.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA