The Weeknd Goes Daft Punk, Shares 20-Second 'John Carpenter' Snippet

Abel Tesfaye prolongs foreplay for 'Kiss Land' album

Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

The Weeknd is such a tease. Anticipation for Abel Tesfaye's Trilogy followup was already high back in January when he tweeted a photo of a computer folder labeled "Untitled 2013 Album." A couple months later, the Alt-R&B poster boy dropped said LP's title — Kiss Land — with no other information. Now, Tesfaye has shared a snippet of a brand new song, and when we say "snippet," we mean "snippet." A grainy YouTube clip titled "John Carpenter" contains no more than 20 seconds of murky new material. No word yet on whether the sample will make its way onto Kiss Land, but its late-night aura would brood comfortably on any Weeknd release.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA