Wayne Coyne's Electric Wurms Unleash Trippy, Freewheeling 'Bat'

The band's debut album 'Musik, die Schwer zu Twerk' will be out next week

Brennan Carley WRITTEN BY
Brennan Carley

After leading Flaming Lips through a headlining performance at San Francisco's Outside Lands Festival this weekend—and stopping by our Toyota Soundwave stage for a Q&A—Wayne Coyne now shares a new song from his Electric Würms side-project. Heard above, "The Bat," is a sprawling, fuzzy rock tune that sounds like it could be a Bond theme were it slightly less dizzying. In case you're not taking thorough notes, the Würms' lineup features Coyne on bass and fellow Lip Steven Drozd on vocals, with additional instrumentation by Nashville's psychdedelic foursome Linear Downfall. Their debut album, Musik, die Schwer zu Twerk, will be released on August 19 by Warner Bros. The Flaming Lips recently joined Moby and Miley Cyrus for a trippy short film, "Blonde SuperFreak Steals the Magic Brain" (we interviewed Moby about that) and will reteam with the Bangerz superstar on October's all-Beatles covers album, set for an October 28 release.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 2 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17
  • 3 The-Dream — Fruition " 04:33
  • 4 A. G. Cook — What I Mean " 04:06
  • 5 Howardian — Be Fruitful " 02:03
  • 6 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 7 Adventures — Your Sweetness " 04:10

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA