WATCH: Strokes Recording in the Studio!

The Strokes
William Goodman

The Strokes are currently in New York's Avatar Studios recording their fourth studio album with producer Joe Chiccarelli (White Stripes, Shins) for release this September -- and Friday, as promised, the band released the first installment of a new video series documenting the process! Watch below.

In the nine-minute clip, the boys -- except singer Julian Casablancas, who is absent -- record a new track called "Taken for a Fool" and get down to plenty of other shenanigans: playing Scrabble, writing a joke song about bassist Nikolai Fraiture busting a piece of recording equipment, and generally just goofing off.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Rustie — Attak (feat. Danny Brown) " 03:01
  • 2 M.I.A. — Gold " 01:48
  • 3 A Sunny Day in Glasgow — Bye Bye, Big Ocean (The End) [Ice Choir Remix] " 04:35
  • 4 Azealia Banks — Heavy Metal And Reflective " 02:31
  • 5 Mystery Skulls — Paralyzed (Single Version) " 02:34
  • 6 Kevin Morby — We Did It All Wrong " 04:47
  • 7 Kiesza — Giant In My Heart (Arches Remix) " 05:50

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA