WATCH: Mars Volta Perform 3 New Songs

Omar Rodríguez-López performs on July 20, 2011 (Photo: Tim Mosenfelder/Getty)
William Goodman

After a two-year break, El Paso, TX, outfit the Mars Volta have wrapped their yet-to-be-titled sixth studio album, tentatively slated for release in early 2012, and they showed off some new songs, full of their convulsive prog-punk-rock-salsa fusion, earlier this month while touring Europe. Antiquiet collected video of three newbies, "I'm Not Running Away," "Trinkets Pale The Room," and "Walk The Plank." Watch below.

Over at his YouTube channel, singer Cedric Bixler-Zavala recently dished on the upcoming LP: "Sorry no Spanish on this record, no Zeppelinesque voyages, no Santana like flourishes... No congas, no Hammond organ stabs, no 30 minute songs, no drums that sounds like mosquitoes buzzing in your ear. Just future punk. That's the only way to describe it."

"I'm Not Running Away" (previously known as "Aegis"):


"Trinkets Pale The Room"


"Walk The Plank" (previously known as "Molochwalk"):

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA