Hear Danny Brown Defend His Girl on Vampire Weekend's 'Step (Remix)'

Heems and Despot also hop on 'Modern Vampires of the City' track's "wintertime" remix

Vampire Weekend, Danny Brown, Heems, Despot,
Vampire Weekend (summer version) Photo by Ben A. Pruchnie/Getty Images
Marc Hogan

Songs have been written about how nobody wants to break up in the holiday-filled, baby-it's-cold-outside winter months, and Vampire Weekend's new seasonal offering matches that spirit. SPIN's 2013 Band of the Year celebrated 2014 by tweeting a "wintertime version" of "Step," originally from their third album, Modern Vampires of the City (one of SPIN's 50 Best Albums of 2013, naturally). On it, Danny Brown waxes winningly romantic, former Das Racist man Heems vividly reflects on a college love affair, and Despot hollers at a special someone whose making "must've broke the mold." That's all set to the VW track's well-suited, Pachelbel's "Canon in D"-like sway — ladies and gentlemen, we are floating in a new year. Stream it below or download it here.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA