Trent Reznor's How to Destroy Angels Share Bleak 'How Long?' Video

'Welcome Oblivion' track list and cover art revealed

Marc Hogan

How to Destroy Angels continue their streak of eerie, well-wrought videos with the clip for "How Long?," which premiered today via NPR. Trent Reznor's group with wife Mariqueen Maandig and frequent collaborators Atticus Ross and Rob Sheridan tapped directing collective Shynola (Coldplay, Beck, Blur) for a video that centers on a glowing-eyed youth in a terrifying, primitive future. The song is throbbing, brooding electronic pop that finds Maandiq repeating, "How long can we keep holding on?"

For the rest of us, the answer is "until March 5." That's when How to Destroy Angels are set to release their debut album, Welcome OblivionThe group, which will make its live debut at Coachella, also today unveiled the track list and vinyl cover artwork for the upcoming record. Vinyl and CD pre-orders are available through Amazon.

And for those still patiently awaiting the return of Nine Inch Nails, Antiquiet has uncovered an intriguing tidbit. An article on Create Digital Music notes that guitarist Adrian Belew, who has recorded with NIN before, "seemed tickled pink by the recent news that he'll tour this year as Nine Inch Nails' guitarist." That would definitely be news to us, but it's something to watch.

How to Destroy Angels' 'Welcome Oblivion' cover art

Welcome Oblivion track list:

1. "The wake-up"
2. "Keep it together"
3. "And the sky began to scream"
4. "Welcome oblivion"
5. "Ice age"
6. "On the wing"
7. "Too late, all gone"
8. "How long?"
9. "Strings and attractors"
10. "We fade away"
11. "Recursive self-improvement"
12. "The loop closes"
13. "Hallowed ground"

1. "The wake-up"
2. "Keep it together"
3. "And the sky began to scream"
4. "Ice age"
5. "Welcome oblivion"
6. "On the wing"
7. "Too late, all gone"
8. "The province of fear"
9. "How long?"
10. "Strings and attractors"
11. "Recursive self-improvement"
12. "Unintended consequences"
13. "We fade away"
14. "The loop closes"
15. "Hallowed ground"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA