Travis Barker Taps Lil Wayne, Slipknot for Solo Album

Travis Barker and Slipknot's Corey Taylor
Kelsey Paine

Blink-182 drummer/producer Travis Barker has announced that Slipknot vocalist Corey Taylor will join him for a metal-infused track on his first upcoming solo album. Hip-hop stars Lil Wayne, RZA, the Game, Rick Ross, and Beanie Segal are also slated to appear on the as-yet-untitled LP.

"I just love music, so with my album it's no one genre," Barker told Spinner. "It goes from everything from punk rock to hip-hop to some electro stuff on there to a metal song with Corey Taylor from Slipknot. It's been really fun and interesting up 'till now."

It's not the first time the rocker has gained attention for genre-swapping collaborations: Barker took the stage with Eminem, Lil Wayne, and Drake at this year's Grammys, and, later that week, Barker found time to join R&B songstress Mary J. Blige in the studio to record a cover of Led Zeppelin's mega-hit "Stairway to Heaven."

His project with club DJ and best friend Adam "DJ AM" Goldstein (dubbed TRV$DJAM) was put on hold after two mix tapes, and was later derailed by the duo's serious plane crash in 2008 -- which killed four and left both musicians hospitalized with third degree burns -- and then again by AM's untimely death following a drug overdose last summer.

In addition to the solo record, Barker has been plenty busy. The drummer wrapped up a three-month Blink-182 reunion tour this past October, and is about to begin recording a new Blink album: "We're about to start working on it," he told MTV earlier this month. "We go to Europe in August for all the festivals ... we do, like, six weeks out there, and then our album will come out probably early next year."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA