Hear Tony Molina's Power-Pop Kiss-Off Gem 'Breakin Up'

Guided By Voices-sized tune set for October's 'Six Tracks' EP

tony molina, breakin' up, matador records
Tony Molina's 'Six Tracks EP' has, you guessed it, six tracks on it
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

In a recent interview with SPIN, San Francisco hardcore vet and solo poptimist Tony Molina said, "To me, hardcore is about being in a band, and pop's more about writing and recording. I'm always going to want to try playing in a new hardcore band. But I also love the idea of trying to make something that gives you the feeling you get when you hear a Teenage Fanclub record... I don't know how to describe it, it's just my favorite music. It's perfect music, man."

The 5 Best New Artists alum dropped Dissed and Dismissed — his first full-length under his own name — earlier this year, and now the noted Weezer apologist is readying a new 7-inch release. Due out in October, the Six Tracks EP will arrive as part of Matador Records' "Singles Going Home Alone" subscription series. With it comes "Breakin Up," a 90-second slice of power-pop genius that's heavy on the hooks and guitar harmonies and light on, well, pretty much everything else. Stream it below.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA