Tony Kanal Has Child, New Bright Eyes Tune + More

Tony Kanal / Conor Oberst (Kanal shot for SPIN by Marc Hom)
SPIN Staff

  • No Doubt's Tony Kanal and his wife Erin Lokitz gave birth to a baby girl, named Coco Reese Lakshmi Kanal, on January 24. "Mom, Dad, and Baby are happy and in love," Kanal posted on the band's website. [No Doubt's Official Site]

  • Download "Haile Selassie," the second track from Bright Eyes' forthcoming album The People's Key, below.

  • Jay-Z has confirmed he will co-produce a remake of the movie Annie, which will star Willow Smith in the title role. "We're developing a true superstar in Willow," the rapper said in a statement. Smith is signed to Jay-Z's Roc Nation label and will release her debut album this year. [BBC]

  • After returning to the stage for a string of South American shows, Amy Winehouse has announced her first European concert. The singer will perform at Bilbao, Spain's BBK Live Festival in July. [Spinner]

  • The Decemberists' new album The King Is Dead came in at No. 1 on the Billboard charts this week. The band sold a career-high 94,000 copies, according to Nielsen SoundScan. [Billboard]

  • Documentaries on Jose Gonzalez, Devendra Banhart, Arcade Fire, and more will be screened at this year's Noise Pop festival in San Francisco, which takes place February 22-27. Also on tap: festival documentary This Noise Is Pop (featuring Sebadoh, Stephen Malkmus, and the Shins) and Pool Party, which chronicles Brooklyn's now-shuttered McCarren Park Pool venue where the Beastie Boys, Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Sonic Youth have performed. [Noise Pop 2011]

  • Tori Amos will premiere her first musical The Light Princess at London's National Theater in April. The play — based on George MacDonald's fairytale The Light Princess — follows a "cursed princess who does not obey the laws of gravity." [London Evening Standard]

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA