Titus Andronicus Unleash 'Stranded (On My Own),' Kicking Off Single Series

Watch frontman Patrick Stickles explain the new releases in two-hour video

Titus Andronicus 'Stranded (On My Own)' 7-Inch Series
Titus Andronicus' 'Stranded (On My Own)' single artwork
Dan Reilly

Last year, Titus Andronicus debuted a new track called "Fatal Flaw," which was supposed to be the first taste of the band's follow-up to 2012's Local Business. According to frontman Patrick Stickles, the Brooklyn-based, Jersey-bred group's next LP would be a massive, 30-something-song rock opera about manic depression, inspired in part by his own experiences with the condition. While that album has yet to materialize, Titus are back with a new track, "Stranded (On My Own)," which leads off a new series of 7-inch singles. The song, due out in physical form on August 25, is a much punkier thrasher than anything heard on Local Business, and will come backed on the B-side by "Sport," a song from Titus offshoot Wicked Kind.

The Seven Seven Inches singles series actually kicks off July 7 (7/7/14) with a reissue of TA's 2007 release, "Titus Andronicus" and "Fear And Loathing In Mahwah, New Jersey," and the band will be celebrating with a show at Brooklyn's Shea Stadium. Attendees will get a copy of the first single, while others can sign up for a subscription to the series at Titus' web store. Below, watch Stickles explain the whole shebang in a nearly two-hour "press conference." That may seem like a shockingly long time, but if you've read his amazing SPIN review of the Replacements' first reunion show, you know that dude isn't into the whole "brevity" thing.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA