Thurston Moore Shreds Mightily on 'Gleo'; Talk Normal Destroy B-Side

'Cause & Effect' 7-inch series features Lou Barlow, more

Thurston Moore Gleo Talk Normal 7-inch Series
Thurston Moore's got his shred-face on / Photo by Getty Images
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

UPDATE: Stereogum is streaming the softly folksy Lou Barlow contribution "Crack and Emerge" along with Dumb Numbers' psych-slacker delight "Last Night I had a Dream." Both also hail from Cause & Effect Vol. 1.

The Joyful Noise label is set to launch a promising new annual 7-inch series called Cause & Effect that features "an influential, historically-significant solo musician on Side A, and the modern result of that musical influence on Side B." On May 28, they'll release Volume 1, a set of three singles that follow the theme, and Pitchfork is currently streaming two significant highlights.

Among the inaugural bunch are Sonic Youth thrasher Thurston Moore (the A-side, of course) and Brooklyn no-wave duo Talk Normal (on the flip), and each has contributed a mighty jam. The former has shared a song called "Gleo" — an instrumental shred-fest that eventually resolves into an unexpected hip-hop drum beat. The latter offer "Shot This Time," a skulking fuzz bomb steeped in gnarly groove. You can stream them both over here. Also appearing in Volume 1 are Lou Barlow with Dumb Numbers and David Yow with Child Bite. Pre-order Cause & Effect at Joyful Noise.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA