Thom Yorke's Atoms For Peace Drop Surprise Single 'Default'

Thom Yorke's Atoms For Peace Drop Surprise Single 'Default'
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Atoms for Peace released a surprise single to iTunes this morning dubbed "Default." The sorta Los Angeles-based Thom Yorke vehicle, featuring Flea and Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich, has unleashed precious little music thus far, but after dropping the "Other Side" 12-inch on Modeselektor's 50 Weapons imprint last month, it seems the Atoms may be accelerating toward something big.

"Default" is expectedly blippy, tense, lacking gravity and featuring lasers. Yorke stays breathy and slight throughout the track, which isn't particularly band-y but is plenty dynamic. XL Recordings has got a proper release for the single on deck (September 10), but you can purchase it now on iTunes, and stream it over at the blog We All Want Someone to Shout For.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 2 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 3 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 4 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15
  • 5 Gangrene — Play It Cool Feat Samuel T. Herring (of Future Islands) & Earl Sweatshirt " 03:53
  • 6 Jay Electronica — Road To Perdition feat. Jay Z " 03:33
  • 7 Sun Kil Moon — Ali/Spinks 2 " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA