The Shins Cheerfully Cover Paul McCartney's 'Wonderful Christmastime'

Also watch the Shins' full 'Austin City Limits' episode

Paul McCartney and the Shins' James Mercer
Paul McCartney and the Shins' James Mercer / Photo via Getty Images, still via PBS
Marc Hogan

With a hurricane bearing down on the Eastern seaboard, Halloween coming up mid-week, and a tightly contested Election Day on November 6, anyone could be forgiven for wanting to fast-forward to the Christmas season. Cue the Shins, whose jubilant, psych-pop take on the recently conciliatory Paul McCartney's 1979 synth-workout chestnut "Wonderful Christmastime" surfaced today via Stereogum.

The song is from Holiday Rules, due out October 30 from Starbucks' Hear Music and Concord Music Group, and its bouncy, Phil Spector-size arrangement should still help to make the season bright a couple of months from now. You know, when it actually is the season.

Listen here.

In other Shins news, James Mercer & co. appeared on PBS' Austin City Limits over the weekend, sharing an episode with Dr. Dog. Watch below:

Holidays Rule track list:
1. fun. - "Sleigh Ride"
2. The Shins - "Wonderful Christmas Time"
3. Rufus Wainwright With Sharon Van Etten - "Baby It's Cold Outside"
4. Paul McCartney - "The Christmas Song Ages"
5. Black Prairie Feat. Sallie Ford - "Man With The Bag"
6. Civil Wars - "I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day"
7. Calexico - "Green Grows The Holly"
8. AgesandAges - "We Need A Little Christmas"
9. Holly Golightly - "That's What I Want For Christmas"
10. Irma Thomas With Preservation Hall Jazz Band - "May Everyday Be Christmas"
11. Heartless Bastards - "Blue Christmas"
12. Eleanor Friedberger - "Santa Bring My Baby Back To Me"
13. Fruit Bats - "It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas"
14. Y La Bamba - "Senor Santa"
15. The Punch Bros. - "O Come O Come, Emmanuel"
16. The Head & The Heart - "What Are You Doing New Year's Eve"
17. Andrew Bird - "Auld Lang Syne"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA