Hear the xx and Nero Go Orchestral (Separately) for 'The Great Gatsby'

Two more songs from the Baz Luhrmann film are revealed

The Great Gatsby The xx Together Nero 'Into the Past' soundtrack Baz Luhrmann
The xx's "Together" appears on the soundtrack to "The Great Gatsby"
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Director Baz Luhrmann is no slouch when it comes to the soundtracks of his films, so expectation has been running high for The Great Gatsby track list ever since the project was announced. We've since heard tiny snippets from Sia and Gotye; medium-sized snippets from Jay-Z and André 3000 with Beyoncé; and full-length snippets (ha) from Lana Del Rey and Florence + the Machine. We've now got two more entire songs to consider: the xx's "Together" and Nero's "Into the Past." The former is elegant, minimal, and romantic. The latter is intense, cinematic and just a wee bit wubby. Both feature lovely orchestral flourishes not usually heard in the artists' music. We know you're dying to stream Fergie's contribution to the film again, but why not give the two below a spin first.

Nero's "Into the Past," from The Great Gatsby:

The xx's "Together," from The Great Gatsby:


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA