Stream Tera Melos' Full, Manic 'X'ed Out' Album

The Sacramento math-pop trio's latest, due April 16 on Sargent House

Tera Melos
Tera Melos
Colin Joyce

Over three albums and a couple of lineup changes, Tera Melos, the Sacramento trio fronted by guitarist/vocalist Nick Reinhart, has made a full shift from the unconventional song structures of ambient-indebted post rock to hyper-technical guitar pop. And while ambling 28-minute songs may be a thing of the past, his band's new effort shows that they aren't keen to let up on the chaos.

X'ed Out picks up largely where the band's 2010 LP Patagonian Rats left off, drenching Reinhart's demure vocals in labyrinthine guitar work. But X'd Out goes even further than its predecessor, keeping the rapid-fire instrumentation but peeling back some of the instrumental layers to put the focus more firmly on the vocals. The buoyant riffing of tracks like "Sunburn" and "Surf Nazis" moves the band into the territory of fellow experimentalists-gone-pop-maximalists Marnie Stern and Maps & Atlases. That's some good company to keep.

Pre-order X'ed Out here.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA