Wavves' Sweet Valley Beat Project Returns With Pitch-Bent 'SV' Mixtape

More weed-warped rap instrumentals from Nathan and Kynan Williams

Sweet Valley Wavves SV Mixtape Stream
The cover of Sweet Valley's fourth mixtape, 'SV' Courtesy of @wavvescybersquat (Instagram)
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Wavves main man Nathan Williams and his brother Kynan are back with their fourth release as Sweet Valley. Their latest instrumental mixtape is dubbed simply SV and marks yet another step forward for their production prowess. Thus far, their ongoing collaboration with Fool's Gold Records has yielded lysergic summer jams (Stay Calm), Zelda-inspired grooves (Eternal Champ), and a heavily weeded holiday offering (Jenova). This brand new 12-track set might be the most ambitious yet — a maximal roundup of disparate ideas that flow together quite nicely: drum 'n' bass pile-ups, '80s-sourced effects, pitch-warped soul vocals, haunting textures, tinny percussives, and blown-out synth sounds. While past works have nodded to J Dilla and Dipset, this one muscles in the territory cut out by folks like Ryan Hemsworth and Shlohmo. Stream below and download via Mediafire:

Sweet Valley, SV track list:

1. "Kingdom of Heaven"
2. "Infinite Impulse"
3. "Turbo GT"
4. "Four"
5. "Quicksand (Secret Colors remix)"
6. "Hypomania"
7. "Jet Speed"
8. "Land Crusher"
9. "Cosmic Divine"
10. "Untitled 21"
11. "Untitled 22"
12. "Valley"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA