Swans Scream for 'Oxygen' on Ear-Splitting New Song

Upcoming album 'To Be Kind' features St. Vincent, Cold Specks, and more

Swans 'Oxygen' Song 'To Be Kind'
From Swans' no-at-all-creepy 'To Be Kind' album cover
Dan Reilly

Following the shambling, drunken dirge "A Little God in My Hands," Swans have released the second taste of their next LP with the shrieking, forceful "Oxygen." Like its predecessor, and most things Swans do, it's an unsettling cacaphony of screams and noise, only this time M. Gira and pals enlist some horns to repeatedly bash you over the head until you're properly concussed. The new album, To Be Kind, promises to have a similarly bruising impact as 2012's SPIN Essential The Seer, with St. Vincent, Little Annie, Cold Specks, and King Crimson's Bill Rieflin helping out on this go-round. It's due out May 12 via Mute.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA