The Streets Recording "Rave" Album

The Streets
William Goodman

When he's not slagging Lily Allen on Twitter, the Streets' Mike Skinner is using his laptop to work on his next album, which, he explained via a MySpace post, would be a "ravey" effort influenced by the city of Berlin.

He added that his follow-up to 2008's Everything is Borrowed will incorporate "a post modernist, art house Bauhaus" sound, as well as a "mix of 1988 Romford, Blackpool and Philadelphia rock," referring to the glam metal sound popular in those cities in the late '80s.

Hmmm, eclectic.

No word yet on a release date or if the upcoming album will in fact be Skinner's final as the Streets, as he previously stated. However, in a sign of the financial times, Skinner said he no longer had a studio and was working from the comfort of his couch. "It is actually quite a good studio," he said. "It is warm and software can do such a great job these days." He added his new environs allow his to work in marathon sessions "completely naked... without even headphones."


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA