Stream Young Guv + The Scuzz's Gleaming 'A Love Too Strong' EP

Ultra-prolific Fucked Up guitarist Ben Cook prepares to release a Petty-inflected 12"

Young Guv
Young Guv
David Bevan WRITTEN BY
David Bevan

Young Governor is the solo moniker of ultra-prolific Fucked Up guitarist Ben Cook and A Love Too Strong is the title of his forthcoming 12" EP due July 31 on Southpaw Records. Following a string of 11 singles and two previous EPs, it's an outing that sounds and feels like a way station between Tom Petty, the Replacements, and the increasingly pop-oriented six-string assault of his band, recorded with a host of Toronto musicians he's lovingly named the Scuzz. (The central lick of "Heal Over Time" for example could easily be found amid the nine dozen layers of guitar on last year's David Comes To Life). Hear it in its entirety exclusively here:


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Paperwhite — Pieces " 03:58
  • 2 Michael Rault — Nothing Means Nothing " 02:56
  • 3 Gold Beach — Impressions " 04:32
  • 4 GENUFLEX — The Last Gods (Mark Stewart And Rambone Remix) " 05:13
  • 5 Sleigh Bells — That Did It Feat. Tink " 02:41
  • 6 Monster Rally & Jay Stone — Recollection " 02:10
  • 7 Little Boots — Pretty Tough " 03:18

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA