Stream Suzanne Kraft's Summery, Slow-Motion Disco Jam 'Horoscope'

Future Times' Max D and Secret Circuit's Eddie Ruscha lend remixes

Suzanne Kraft
Suzanne Kraft
Philip Sherburne WRITTEN BY
Philip Sherburne

Cross-dressing aliases seem to be all the rage. Consider DJ Donna Summer (Jason Forrest), Sarah Goldfarb (Jean-Vincent Luccini), Karenn (Blawan and Pariah), Andrea (Andy Stott) and Millie (Miles Whittaker) and their Daphne label — not to be confused with Caribou's own femalias, Daphni. Enter Suzanne Kraft, who also adds a little continent-hopping into the mix. Despite the (assumed) Krauty surname, Kraft is the moniker of Los Angeles' Diego Herrera, a Dublab-affiliated slow-motion disco adept who made his debut last year on Gerd Janson's Running Back label. For what it's worth, his passport is definitely in order: Earlier this summer he took part in a performance of Manuel Göttsching's "E2 E4" as part of an evening of German cosmic music, complete with the Goethe Institut's imprimatur.

A follow-up EP for the Friends of Friends sister-label Young Adults, out next month, finds Kraft digging even deeper into his bag of tricks to produce five new tracks of dreamy deep house that knows no borders. Retro-tinged and poolside-appropriate, the Horoscope EP is certainly Zeitgeisty, but it stands out for Herrera's strong sense of melody, effortless grooves, and unbelievably lush beds of synthesizer. Future Times' Max D unleashes psilocybin-laced desert visions on his remix of "Feel," and the Los Angeles musician Secret Circuit, a.k.a. Eddie Ruscha — yes, Ed Ruscha's son — takes a page from Steve Reich's book on his "No Worries" remix, brandishing marimba counterpoints as the ultimate yacht-house accessory.

Horoscope comes out on vinyl on Sesptember 4, and the digital release follows on September 25; stream the title track in its entirety below.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA