SPIN.com's Best of the Week

Kanye West / Lykke Li / Billie Joe Armstrong (Photo: Johnny Nunez/WireImage for GQ; West, Kyle Dean Reinford; Lykke Li)
SPIN Staff

This week, Kanye West and Jay-Z released "H.A.M.," the first single from their upcoming collabo LP, Watch the Throne, SPIN premiered a new single from Swede siren Lykke Li, and Green Day announced details for their upcoming live album. Meanwhile, ex-Oasis singer Liam Gallagher unveiled a new song and video from his band Beady Eye, and Vampire Weekend frontman Ezra Koenig and the Black Keys battled in a Colbert Report skit to determine which band was the biggest sell-out.

These stories, plus the week's top news, audio/video, and live reviews, below:


Vampire Weekend vs. Black Keys on 'Colbert'!WATCH: The two Grammy nominees duke it out in a "sell-out-off" in this hilarious clip. Read >> Plus
  • HEAR IT: Kanye and Jay-Z Leak First Collabo Song Read >>
  • EXCLUSIVE: New Lykke Li Song! Read >>
  • Green Day Live Album Coming in March Read >>
  • Liam Gallagher Channels Beatles in New Video Read >>


Trent Reznor Scoring 'Dragon Tattoo' MovieNine Inch Nails leader teaming up again with 'Social Network' director David Fincher for the upcoming adaptation of best-selling book. Read >> Plus
  • Soundgarden Releasing First Live Album in March Read >>
  • EXCLUSIVE: Peter Bjorn and John Talk New Album Read >>
  • Green Day Turning 'American Idiot' Into Movie? Read >>
  • U2's 'Spider-Man' Musical Delayed Until March Read >>
  • Of Montreal Announce Spring Tour Read >>
  • Why He's Called... Iron and Wine Read >>
  • Terrific Twitter Trio of the Week Read >>


Amy Winehouse's Road to RedemptionShe's back! Take a look at the highs and lows leading up to her triumphant return to the stage this weekend in Brazil. View >>


Amanda Palmer Fights for Pubic Hair FreedomPREMIERE: Watch the provocateur's new video for "Map of Tasmania" -- bet you can't count all the merkins! Read >> Plus
  • LISTEN: Hayley Williams Unveils Solo Demo! Read >>
  • HEAR IT: Wavves and Best Coast's Hot New Songs Read >>
  • EXCLUSIVE: Gang of Four's Comeback Song Read >>
  • WATCH: Against Me! Rehearse with New Drummer Read >>
  • PREMIERE: New Video from Bon Iver's S. Carey Read >>
  • EXCLUSIVE: Cowboy Junkies Cover Vic Chesnutt Read >>
  • EXCLUSIVE: Hot Jam from M.I.A. Fave DJ Blaqstarr Read >>
  • WATCH: Okkervil River Debut Song on 'Fallon' Read >>


Cage the Elephant, Thank You, Happy Birthday (Jive)Where is his mind? Gone, daddy, gone the distance. Read >> Plus
  • Tapes 'n Tapes, Outside (Ibid)Read >>

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 KLOË — Grip " 03:24
  • 2 Dead Right! — Rising Tide (Saint Motel Remix) " 03:17
  • 3 The-Dream — Fruition " 04:33
  • 4 A. G. Cook — What I Mean " 04:06
  • 5 Howardian — Be Fruitful " 02:03
  • 6 The Suffers — Make Some Room " 04:34
  • 7 Adventures — Your Sweetness " 04:10

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA