SPIN.com's Best of the Week

Iggy Pop / Rihanna
SPIN Staff

This week, the Stooges, Genesis, and ABBA earned Rock Hall spots for 2010, Rihanna dropped a brand new video for "Hard," John Frusciante officially announced his departure from the Red Hot Chili Peppers, and Twilight's Kristen Stewart sang in a new trailer for The Runaways.

Plus, don't forget to check out all of SPIN's year-end lists -- including 2009's best songs and albums -- right here. Also, vote for your favorite bands in our reader's pool, here.

These stories, plus the week's top news, audio/video, and live reviews, below.

top Stories

Stooges, Genesis, ABBA for Rock Hall But what about Kiss and the Red Hot Chili Peppers?Read >>Plus
  • KStew Sings in New 'Runaways' TrailerRead >>
  • It's Official: Frusciante Leaving Chili PeppersRead >>
  • WATCH: Rihanna's 'Hard' VideoRead >>


STP "Almost Finished" with New Album Scott Weiland says the alt-rock vets have "nine songs completed" for their reunion release. Read >>Plus
  • Kid Cudi Leaves Lady Gaga's 'Monster' TourRead >>
  • REVIEW: Lil Wayne, Eminem Song Leaks!Read >>
  • Billy Corgan: Pumpkins Split a "Mistake"Read >>
  • Terrific Twitter Trio of the WeekRead >>


30 Biggest Concerts of 2009 From Metallica to Lady Gaga, SPIN rates the year in live music! Read >>Plus
  • Metric, Phoenix, and Muse Rock SeattleRead >>
  • Eerie Von's 10 Best Metal Pics!Read >>
  • On the Scene: MiamiRead >>


DOWNLOAD: Unreleased Elliott Smith Song! Kill Rock Stars unearths 1997's "Cecilia/Amanda" to celebrate upcoming reissues. Read >>Plus
  • FREE ALBUM: 10 Artists to Watch in 2010Read >>
  • Phoenix Unplugged at SPIN HQ! Read >>
  • Kings of Leon: SPIN Cover Shoot!Read >>
  • DOWNLOAD: Roots Release 'Late Night' JamsRead >>
  • New Clip From White Stripes DocRead >>


Surfer Blood, Astro CoastScruffy indie rock with cheap-seats aspirations.Read >>Plus
  • Eels, End Times (E Works/Vagrant) Read >>
  • Mary J. Blige, Stronger with Each Tear (Matriarch/Geffen)Read >>

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA