Souls of Mischief Team With Snoop Dogg for 'There Is Only Now'

Oakland rap icons bring old school back to the studio for new album of the same name

Souls of Mischief There Is Only Now Snoop Dogg
Return of the Souls and their penchant for stirring the pot
Olivia Forman

Bay Area rap icons Souls of Mischief have shared the title track for their new album There is Only Now. The Hieroglyphics OGs call upon Snoop Dogg on this stirring single about living for the moment. As previously reported, the group's first long-player in five years was recorded without the use of computers, instead utilizing 2-inch analogue tape with each song recorded in a single take. The album's producer, Adrian Younge (Jay-Z, Ghostface Killah, Delfonics), ensured all instruments were either played by himself or studio musicians to cut out the convention of sampling sounds from machines. Thus, the track registers with an otherworldly freedom of space and a fascinating diversity of raw sounds and voices. Due out August 26 on Younge's Linear Labs, There Is Only Now will unfold as a musical crime saga based on a real-life near-fatal accident experienced early in the journeys of the Souls.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA