Sigur Rós Side-Project to Release Debut Album

Sigur Ros frontman Jón Þór Birgisso (left)
Melissa Goldstein

Sigur Rós frontman Jón Þór Birgisson and his partner, Alex Somers, have announced plans to release their self-titled debut album as Riceboy Sleeps, the side-project they formed in 2003.

Birgisson and Somers (who designs many Sigur Rós album covers and also performs in Icelandic pop outfit Parachutes) recorded the nine-track LP in Iceland "solely on acoustic instruments." From there, the duo headed to a far corner of Hawaii, where they "endlessly toyed with [the record] on solar-powered laptops in a raw food commune."

The album, which will drop July 20 in Europe, doesn't have a U.S. release date yet.

Riceboy has released two singles: "All the Big Trees" (which sounds a bit like an orchestra tuning in a forest populated by elves shuffling over broken bits of glass) and "Daniell in the Sea" (which sounds like your computer is haunted by peace-loving spirits). Check out the music videos for each instrumental track below.

Riceboy Sleeps, "Daniell in the Sea"

Riceboy Sleeps, "All the Big Trees"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA