Stream Sd Laika's Deranged 'Idiot Thug' Beat Mix

Bleak, brutal sonics reign in the vein of 'Yeezus' producers Arca and Evian Christ

Sd Laika 'Idiot Thug' Mix Stream Tri Angle Records
The cover of Sd Laika's 'Idiot Thug' mix for Tri Angle Records
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

As detailed in SPIN's Album of the Year piece on Kanye West's brashly brutal Yeezus, 2013 was the year that a whole lot of great music entered the void. The sort of uncanny sonics explored by Oneohtrix Point Never collided with the otherworldly strains of Tim Hecker and the noise-rap freakouts of Death Grips to deliver some bleak left-field gems. Post-Yeezus offerings from that album's contributors Arca and Evian Christ sweetened the pot, and now we can look forward to a hefty release from the similarly minded producer-provocateur Sd Laika. His new Idiot Thug mix is streaming below, and it precedes a forthcoming official release on Tri Angle Records (Forest Swords, Haxan Cloak). We're guessing these are snippets from an album to come.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Santiparro — The Benefit of Confrontation " 04:49
  • 2 Soda Fabric — Teenage Illusion " 04:03
  • 3 Walter Lukens — Every Night " 02:55
  • 4 Sarah Bethe Nelson — Paying " 05:47
  • 5 Faith Healer — Again " 02:57
  • 6 Death Cab for Cutie — Black Sun " 04:49
  • 7 OOFJ — I Forgive You " 03:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA