ScHoolboy Q Teases Possible Supergroup With A$AP Rocky, Danny Brown, and Ab-Soul

Coy hints follow recent Boi-1da-produced 'Yay Yay'

Schoolboy Q
Schoolboy Q / Photo by Getty Images
Marc Hogan

ScHoolboy Q, who's set to follow fellow Black Hippy member Kendrick Lamar with in-the-works major-label debut Oxymoron, has big plans. In an interview with XXL, the caPitally crEative rapper confirmed Pharrell Williams, A$AP Rocky, Danny Brown, and Black Hippy's own Ab-Soul are lined up to appear on the album. He also reportedly teased the idea of joining forces with Rocky, Brown, and Soul for a supergroup.

Alas, the precise quote isn't as definitive as we'd like. "Maybe we can even put our own little group together," ScHoolboy Q told XXL, referring to him and the three other rappers. Still, perhaps a little fan encouragement can make this forwared-looking hip-hop hydra happen.

In the meantime, ScHoolboy Q also said he'd been talking with Soul about a possible collaborative album, which he said might be called Druggys Wit Hoes, after two previous tracks the two did together. He said he also wanted to do a collaborative album with Rocky. So many thrones to watch!

For now, there's plenty of reason to look forward to Oxymoron, and not only because ScHoolboy Q's last album, Habits & Contradictions, was one of last year's most fervently discussed hip-hop records. The rapper recently shared "Yay Yay," a dusky, pared-down drug-dealing fable produced by Boi-1da, a beatmaker of choice for Drake. The lyrics are detailed in the manner of laundry lists ("pistols in my hands, pockets full of ox"), but ScHoolboy Q never claimed to be Clipse, and his elastic-voiced sneer, plus that snappy, incessant title hook, should be enough to keep customers coming back for more. 

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 3 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 4 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 5 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 6 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 7 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA