Ryan Hemsworth Drops Dreamy 'Against a Wall' Ahead of Debut Album

Genre-bending DJ/producer announces 'Guilt Trip' LP featuring Kitty and Baths

The cover of Ryan Hemsworth's new album
The cover of Ryan Hemsworth's new album
Jordan Sargent WRITTEN BY
Jordan Sargent

The year 2013 has been a big one for Ryan Hemsworth. He has released a number of excellent mixes, experimental remixes (Lana Del Rey as Kirko Bangz! A$AP Rocky with Britney Spears!), and an EP that hinted at a fuller sound, while also lacing hard-edged rappers with twinkling beats. Now we learn that he'll cap it all off with a debut full-length album Guilt Trips, the cover of which you can see above. Though little other details of the album are known — besides guest spots from Kitty Pryde, Baths, and Sinead Harnett — Hemsworth has released a first single "Against a Wall," which features the rapper Lofty305 of Metro Zu. 

Over undulating keyboards and bubble-pop snares, Lofty sing-raps to his girl: "Love you, love you / I love you cuz you..." Hemsworth's beat hints at both the stuttering wiki-wiki-wah breakdowns of classic Timbaland tracks and the all-consuming buzzsaw bass of a Skrillex production, but this is still bass music that could help put a baby to sleep. Which, it would seem, is part of the intention.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA