Killer Mike and El-P Intimidate on Run the Jewels' Swinging '36-Inch Chain'

Dudes shout out Tim Tebow on Adult Swim Singles track

Run the Jewels Killer Mike El-P '36 Chain'
Jordan Sargent WRITTEN BY
Jordan Sargent

Killer Mike and El-P's unforgiving Run the Jewels project is the perfect sort of rap for the sweltering summer ahead: heavy hits, pointed threats, decaying beats. While their last album-length collaboration — the already classic R.A.P. Music  — dismantled the burden of the Reagan Era, their latest material has a much simpler aim. Which is, as tracks like "Get It" and "Banana Clipper" have shown, to talk as much shit as possible. Today the duo dropped new song "36" Chain," which furthers that proven aesthetic with aplomb.

Per Complex, this is the first entry in 2013's Adult Swim Singles series — which officially kicks off June 10 — but it will also appear on Run the Jewels' forthcoming free album, which SPIN previewed exclusively in April. Though still lacking a release date or track list, the set is expected to drop sometime this summer, and the pair will tour the U.S. and Canada from July into August.

Mike is staying busy in the meantime, with one of the best sets of Primavera Sound recently tucked under his belt, and a solo slot at Bonnaroo coming right up.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 2 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 3 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 4 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15
  • 5 Gangrene — Play It Cool Feat Samuel T. Herring (of Future Islands) & Earl Sweatshirt " 03:53
  • 6 Jay Electronica — Road To Perdition feat. Jay Z " 03:33
  • 7 Sun Kil Moon — Ali/Spinks 2 " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA