Rubblebucket Announce New Album 'Survival Sounds' With Joyous 'Sound of Erasing'

Brooklyn dance-rock crew's next LP arrives August 26 by way of Communion Records

rubblebucket, sound of erasing, survival sounds
Theo Salem-Mackall

Rubblebucket could have remained trapped among the morass of Brooklyn dance-rock acts, but the five-piece has won notoriety by coalescing bright hooks with a complete disregard for genre convention. On such efforts as 2013's Save Charlie EP, the band seamlessly incorporates funky horns, catchy synth loops, and tUnE-yArDs-esque percussion to craft their own brand of forward-thinking pop. On August 26, Rubblebucket will add a third full-length to their catalog: Survival Sounds, the group's first LP for Communion Records, the label founded in part by Mumford & Sons' Ben Lovett.

Produced and mixed by John Congleton (St. Vincent, Angel Olsen, Cloud Nothings), the upcoming record features lead single "Sound of Erasing," an apt primer for Rubblebucket's singular vision. The track's ska guitars build over glitchy sonics, and finally erupt into an tropical-friendly crescendo. Listen below, .

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA