Roses Deliver Shimmering New Wave on 'It's Over'

Los Angeles trio's debut EP due out August 5 on Group Tightener

Roses Photo by Olivia Hemaratanatorn
Killian Young

If emerging Los Angeles trio Roses' new song "It's Over" indicates what's in store for their first EP, Dreamlover is certainly a fitting title for the record. The whimsical track calls to mind '80s New Wave, with sprawling guitars, shimmering synths, and frontman Marc Steinberg's mellow vocals. The ethereal outfit's sound also matches the sonic evolution of guitarist Juan Velasquez, whose previous band Abe Vigoda shook off their tropical punk roots in favor of a more conventional darkwave sound on their last LP. Alex DeGroot, engineer for synth-pop outfit Zola Jesus, recorded Roses' debut effort.

The Dreamlover EP will be released on August 5 via Group Tightener, but in the meantime, listen to "It's Over" below.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 OOFJ — I Forgive You " 03:52
  • 2 MyMidnightHeart — D R O W N " 04:59
  • 3 In Tall Buildings — Bawl Cry Wail " 04:08
  • 4 Slutever — Smother " 01:55
  • 5 Lithuania — Pieces " 03:40
  • 6 Kuroma — Love Is on the Way " 03:29
  • 7 Big Sean — Blessings " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA