Rocket Juice and the Moon Launch 'Hey Shooter' With Erykah Badu

Rocket Juice and the Moon Erkyah Badu
Rocket Juice and the Moon album cover
Marc Hogan

Rocket Juice and the Moon have set their controls for the heart of the sun. As premiered on Pitchfork, the first studio track from the supergroup of Damon Albarn, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, and phenomenal Afrobeat drummer Tony Allen ventures into sweaty, interstellar funk via the sultry yet spaced vocals of Erykah Badu. "Up and away on your journey to the sun," Badu begins on the first verse of "Hey Shooter," which, like her recent collaboration with Mark Ronson and the Meters' Zigabo Modeliste, teams Badu with a powerful brass section and a top-flight drummer. This time, though, the results are even better: Between blazing horn fanfares, Flea's nimbly popping bass, and, of course, Allen's frenzied polyrhthms, "Hey Shooter" gets down by blasting off.

Rocket Juice and the Moon arrives March 27 on Honest Jon's. Hear the ensemble perform seven songs live.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA