Ratking and Black Dice's Eric Copeland Are Left-Field Rap 'Gauchos'

New York experimentalists clash excellently on 'CONS EP VOL. 1' track

Ratking Eric Copeland Gauchos Black Dice Stream
Ratking at the launch party for Converse's Cons holiday collection Photo courtesy of Converse
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

Ratking wield the sort of left-field rhymes that put crews like Antipop Consortium and Def Jux on the map in the early aughts — oblique with a city-hardened edge, best served up on a bed of glitch-addled beatwork that acknowledges rap's past while utterly ignoring the rules. That makes Black Dice member and solo DFA-signed producer Eric Copeland uniquely qualified to throw this Harlem crew a backing track, and he does on "Gauchos," a new track hailing from the forthcoming CONS EP VOL. 1. That branded collection will amass original songs recorded by various artists at the Converse Rubber Tracks studio in Brooklyn. Ratking and Copeland's wonkily grooving collaboration is free to stream and download below.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA