Watch Rathborne's Hallucinatory 'SOFT' Video

New York quartet on the road with Strokes member Albert Hammond Jr.

Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Back in September, Rathborne released SOFT, an 11-track debut album that, as SPIN noted, "segues back and forth through the American underground, channeling the garage-rock sludge of Ty Segall in places (see the title track) and resurrecting the melodic charms of R.E.M. in others ('Wanna Be You')." Now, the New York City foursome — singer-guitarist Luke Rathborne, bassist Darren Will, drummer Jamie Alegre, and multi-instrumentalist Jimmy Gianopoulos — are wading further into the muck with the official music video for SOFT's titular tune.

Directed by Jack Schurman, the clip trades in psychedelic visuals: Rathborne are bathed in blue light, performing live, and leaving behind tracer trails with every motion. Partake by hitting the play button above, and scroll down for Rathborne's North American tour dates. The band have a string of shows lined up alongside Strokes guitarist Albert Hammond Jr., who mixed and coproduced SOFT with Gus Oberg.

Rathborne North American tour dates:

November 20 - Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre *
November 21 - San Francisco, CA @ Slim's *
November 23 - Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theatre *
November 24 - Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey *
November 25 - Vancouver, BC @ Venue *

* = with Albert Hammond Jr.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 2 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 3 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 4 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 5 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 6 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 7 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA