Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood Debuts 'Loop' With London Orchestra

Fan caught previously unheard song on camera during February 23 show

Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Radiohead's ninth album remains a work-in-progress, but guitarist Jonny Greenwood recently unveiled a new piece of music he finished on his own. On Sunday, February 23, the 42-year-old multi-instrumentalist performed with the London Contemporary Orchestra at London's Wapping Hydraulic Power Station and, as the Guardian points out, debuted a fresh composition that's reportedly titled "Loop." As heard via the fan-shot footage above, the song resembles Greenwood's soundtrack work for the Paul Thomas Anderson films There Will Be Blood and The Master (and, if history is any guide, the upcoming Inherent Vice). The instrumental "Loop" blossoms and fidgets, marrying Greenwood's spindly guitarwork with sharp, sumptuous strings. Watch it above.

Greenwood has a number of solo projects on the horizon. On March 3, he'll release a split classical-music album with the National's Bryce Dessner. Later this year, Greenwood's never-before-heard "Water" will be performed, for the first time ever, by the Australian Chamber Orchestra. His Inherent Vice score wil be heard at some point this year, when the 2014 film lands in theaters.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA